Gravity Launch Plan

Gravity, the third and final novel in the Entropy series has survived my beta readers. All but one of them loved it, which is par for the course. The one who didn’t like it had issues with the story line, not the writing, which I’m okay with. Here is a tremendously helpful quote from Stephen King (whose writing I alternately love and hate, depending on the book, but who I admire very much as an author). I re-read it every time I send something out for beta reading…

The best beta feedback I get is the “hey, he forgot to take off his pants” or “you just used that exact phrase two paragraphs ago.” Along with the perennial, “would you please fucking learn to use commas correctly?”

Anyway, that one hater hasn’t derailed me, and so with all the pants removed and redundancies sorted, a final copy has gone to my printer, CreateSpace. They will have a gorgeous paperback proof copy in my hot little hands next week. Actually, I ordered two, so I have one to give away on Goodreads. But I’ll get to that in a bit.

I’ve picked a launch date of March 28. There is a lot to do before that, and I thought it might be fun for you to see it all laid out. I’ve launched novels twice now, so I have a pretty set procedure.

  • Receive the print proof. Start proofreading when I can find time, but do that in parallel with all the other stuff I’m about to list, none of which requires that my text be final.
  • Publish on CreateSpace, then immediately pull it from all channels. This creates a page on Amazon.com for the print version. (See this post for an explanation of why we do this.)
  • Make the Kindle version, and upload that to KDP. Publish it for pre-order, with a launch date of March 28.
  • Ask KDP support to link the Kindle and Print versions on Amazon.com.
  • Set up shortcuts at mybook.to for both versions.
  • Set up pages on Goodreads and Librarything for the new book.
  • Schedule a Gooodreads international giveaway of that extra proof copy.
  • Send my beta readers a link to the Amazon page so they can post reviews.
  • Draft a couple ARC (advance review copy) reviewers who write those crazy reviews on Goodreads with all the animated GIFs.
  • Send out ARCs to folks who have reviewed my previous books on their blogs.
  • Finish proofreading the paperback and update the print and Kindle versions as needed.
  • Update the back matter on Duality Kindle edition to include a link to Gravity.
  • Order a dozen copies of the final book, for signed sales.
  • Make pull-quote graphics for Twitter? I don’t know. I didn’t get any traction from these for Duality, so I might not bother with them this time.
  • Send a note to my mailing list announcing that the Kindle version is available for preorder, and telling them how to get signed copies if they want.
  • Gently remind my beta readers that I really need them to post that review.
  • Send the proof to whoever won the Goodreads giveaway.
  • Tweet about Kindle preorder.
  • Run a Twitter Ad campaign and tweet a lot on launch day.

Did I miss anything? I’ve never been a fan of the online launch party, or the “blog tour.” After all this is done, I’ll be focusing on awareness on Twitter, making sure everyone who read the first two books knows the new book is out. (I still find followers on Twitter every day who don’t know I’m an author. It boggles the mind.)

2 thoughts on “Gravity Launch Plan

Leave a Reply

