My Goodreads Giveaway ends January 20

Click here to enter

Click the pretty flowers to enter

As I mentioned in my last post, I’m running a Goodreads giveaway. It started on Wednesday, and it’ll run for one week. I’m giving away one copy, because I found some pretty convincing articles on the web that say:

  • It doesn’t matter how many copies you give away, you’ll get the same number of entrants regardless (1 physical book is the minimum)
  • You get most of your entrants on the first and last day of the giveaway, so make it as short as possible (1 week is the minimum)

Goodreads takes care of everything. All I need to do is tell people about the link, and actually, I don’t even need to do that. I have a solid 300 entrants that found the giveaway on their own before I even started talking about it on Twitter or my mailing list or here on the blog. People just like free stuff.

The number of entrants is pretty impressive, and because it’s a default when you enter, a ton of people are putting my novel on their “to read” list. The value of that, I’m guessing, is that somebody who is looking at my novel will see it on a lot of people’s to-read lists, and will conclude that it’s a popular book. However, I can’t think of any circumstance that will cause someone to look at my book on Goodreads, so I doubt very much that this matters at all.

In fact, my gut says that this entire exercise is a complete waste of time. But it’s only going to cost me about $10 to buy and send the book (or maybe twice that if someone in a really remote location is the winner; I opened the thing up to the whole globe). So I figure it’s worth it to find out. My sales have completely stagnated this month, so if I suddenly see an uptick, I’ll be quite sure that this giveaway is the cause. I’ll keep you posted.

If you haven’t already entered, here’s the link.

Update: Results!

Leave a Reply

