AN ACTUAL REVIEW OF ROMANTIC AS HELL

Romantic as HellYesterday I wrote my “review” of Romantic as Hell by Rodney Lacroix. Did you read it? Did you get the joke? Sheesh people. You disappoint me sometimes.

I didn’t review his book! 

Here is my actual review…

Rodney wrote an amazingly good book. It does have a little bit of a structural issue, which even he sees because he talks about it right up front. This is a book that started out as one thing, but ended up being something completely different. Both the old thing and the new thing end up in the same book, which is the structural issue I’m talking about. They are both excellent things—they are just different, and so the transition back and forth can be a little clumsy.

The original thing this book was going to be is a whole bunch of really cool romantic craft projects. Seriously. Crafty things that even a person cursed with a Y chromosome can probably manage to do. And since the projects are romantic as hell (as advertised), it doesn’t even matter if you do them well. You spend a few hours doing a thing and give it to your wife/girlfriend/sidepiece and she will totally melt. Then she’ll put pictures up on Facebook (unless she’s the sidepiece, I hope) to make all her friends go “awww” and kick their men in the shins for not doing that stuff.

The projects are creative and clever, and as I said in my Amazon review, not exactly what you would expect from a straight man who likes going to hear 80s metal bands. They aren’t particularly funny, though. Just really good ideas. In fact, at one point I got a little sad, because I’ve done stuff like this for my wife, and it hasn’t always gone over the way I hoped. Rodney had one case like that, but it turned around for him. But I digress. Romance involves risk. And if it always pans out, it’s not risky. So I say: try this stuff.

But, as I said, that’s the original thing the book was going to be about. Except I’m sure after he finished it, he realized that while it would make a great series on TLC, it’s not a comedy book. So he went back and wrote a comedy book. And this book totally rocks as a comedy book. It is mostly a long series of hilarious anecdotes of stupid things the author has done in his life. Rodney is a story-teller of the first degree. You feel like you are there. You have that “OH NO!” feeling at least once in every tale.

Going back and forth between the comedy and the craft projects is kind of clumsy. I think I would have rather he had just written two completely different books and stuck them together. Like those kids books where they print half of it upside down, so you can flip it over and have a different book. Except I guess they can’t do that with e-Books, so yeah, that’s probably a stupid idea. But anyway, one book of funny stories with references to the craft projects, an another book of craft projects with references to the funny stories.

But it’s really not that big a deal. This book is a really quick read, so you can just trip over the transitions and keep going. You’ll plow through the stories, and make mental note of the craft projects. And then months later, when you are stuck trying to decide what kind of teddy bear to get your sidepiece for her birthday, you’ll remember the book and go do a craft project for her instead. It’ll become a reference book. You can store it next to your copy of the Chicago Manual of Style.

You can get the book here: getbook.at/RomanticAsHell. I highly recommend it. It’s funny. It’s clever. It’s well written. If you like my blog, you’ll like Rodney’s book.

One thought on “AN ACTUAL REVIEW OF ROMANTIC AS HELL

Leave a Reply

