Dirty Pictures

One of my readers from the crowdsource editing phase of my novel writing process suggested a really cool idea for how to get the word out about my book. She suggested that I grab selected quotes from the novel and put them on pictures. Then people might share them the way people do on social media. I saw a campaign kind of like this in the aftermath of the 50 Shades movie, where people took horrible quotes and substituted them into the actual movie promo poster. That was really funny.

So I checked the rights on the stock photos I bought for my cover, and was pleased to learn that I can do anything I want with them online. It’s actually kind of amazing how liberal the shutterstock license is. And I didn’t even buy the expensive version.

I then asked my readers for some favorite quotes, and I pulled some of my own favorites, and this is the result. I made three different backgrounds, and I picked which one to use based on the emotion of the quote. That was much easier than I expected. I wonder if computer science will ever come up with an algorithm for that: matching the emotion of words and pictures.

I’ll go ahead and dump them all right into this post. If you see anything you like, feel free to copy and paste the picture anywhere you want. I have no presence on tumblr or instagram, and I’m not promoting this book to my Facebook friends, so any sharing outside Twitter would be particularly helpful (hint, hint, hint).

I’ll drop these onto my timeline as well, dribbling them out over the next couple weeks. And I’ll probably come up with some more as I get more people telling me favorite lines.

Copy! Share! Thank you!!!

Update: I’m doing something weird on Twitter to promote the book.

mybook.to/entropy mybook.to/entropy mybook.to/entropy mybook.to/entropy mybook.to/entropy mybook.to/entropy mybook.to/entropy mybook.to/entropy mybook.to/entropy mybook.to/entropy mybook.to/entropy mybook.to/entropy mybook.to/entropy mybook.to/entropy

mybook.to/entropy

mybook.to/entropy

mybook.to/entropy

3 thoughts on “Dirty Pictures

Leave a Reply

