Moanin’

It’s been a while since I did an audio selfie here, so here’s a session recording from a couple years ago. Same group I introduced in the Listen Here post. A couple things to listen for:

When Michael solos at about 4:10, I switch from sax to piano to comp some chords. That’s pretty much the extent of my jazz piano ability.

At 5:30 I quote Fever. At that point Michael and I start trading fours. That’s where each guy plays four bars (16 beats) and you go back and forth. The idea is to play off each other.

The song is a jazz standard dating back to 1958. Written by Bobby Timmons and recorded by the Jazz Messengers. It’s been covered about a zillion times since then.

2 thoughts on “Moanin’

Leave a Reply

