Viral Poetry Teaser

A friend of mine gave me a combination computer science / poetry challenge that she found in a book she is reading. I spent the free time I was supposed to spend writing a blog entry working on that challenge. So the bad news is that I don’t have anything written by my deadline. But the good news is that I have a pretty cool thing to write about once I’m finished solving the puzzle.

I’ll explain the motivation behind the challenge in that post, but for now here are the rules. Make a poem that makes sense regardless of whether you start on the first or second letter (you can move the spaces between letters around as needed), and also makes sense backward.

I’ve got a few that meet the rules and uses all real words and almost make sense. These two are typical:

pop era star tape live reel
opera start ape liver eel
lee revile pat rats are pop

abutter anime el
butter a nim eel
lee minaret tuba

But I’m confident I’ll have much better ones to share when I write the post. Maybe Monday.

One thought on “Viral Poetry Teaser

  1. Is it too late to ask for clarification of a rule & has deadline passed? From you:
    “A friend of mine gave me a combination computer science / poetry challenge that she found in a book she is reading.

    here are the rules. Make a poem that makes sense regardless of whether you start on the first or second letter (you can move the spaces between letters around as needed), and also makes sense backward.

    I’ve got a few that meet the rules and uses all real words and almost make sense. These two are typical:

    pop era star tape live reel
    opera start ape liver eel
    lee revile pat rats are pop

    abutter anime el
    butter a nim eel
    lee minaret tuba

    But I’m confident I’ll have much better ones to share when I write the post. Maybe Monday.”

    Butter a nim eel I can match, sir alphabet

Leave a Reply

