Sweat

Sweat is pooled on her solar plexus
I trace my finger through
Is it hers, or mine?

She is divine
She doesn’t snore or swear or sweat
It must not be hers

I am mortal
I lust and covet and consume
It must be mine

Or perhaps it is ours
The remnant of our moments together
The echo of our whispers

The cool breeze from the fan
Slowly diffusing this moisture into the ether
Cooling her skin, making her shiver

I trace my finger through
She is mine, I am hers, and the sweat is ours
Our boundaries are undefined

Her soul and my soul
Her love and my love
Entangled like these molecules of water and salt

Evaporating
Cooling
Yet remaining as one

2 thoughts on “Sweat

Leave a Reply

