The Best Playlist Ever

A couple of years ago, I found myself in charge of organizing the music for a library fundraiser. I played at this same event a few years later, and have some tracks from it in this post. Since I was in charge, I needed to put some music together to play on a shuffle during setup and breaks. The event was Valentine’s-themed, and I figured love songs would be the way to go. It’s an older crowd, so jazz vocal standards won the day.

As I assembled this playlist, I tried to hit a wide variety of artists, and to take just a couple of my favorites from each. Since then, I’ve found that this may be the best playlist I’ve ever created. In fact, it may be the best playlist ever.

Of course, I’m in love. So of course I’m going to be partial to lists of love songs. But there is something special about each one of these songs. And I’m going to tell you what that something special is. There are 37 songs on the list, so it’s going to take a while. The songs are meant to be shuffled. Order doesn’t matter, so here they are alphabetically. Each of the album names links to a place you should be able to find that track on iTunes, although sometimes I couldn’t find exactly that album. If there is no link, that means you can’t get that on iTunes at all (sorry), so google as needed.

Song Artist Album
Almost Like Being In Love Nicole Henry The Very Thought of You
Bei Mir Bist Du Schon Robin McKelle Introducing Robin McKelle
Beyond the Sea Bobby Darin Aces Back to Back
Bienvenue Dans Ma Vie Nikki Yanofsky Nikki
Bye Bye Blackbird Etta Jones Don’t Go To Strangers
Comes Love Robin McKelle Modern Antique
Dance Me To The End Of Love Madeleine Peyroux Careless Love
Devil May Care Jamie Cullum Pointless Nostalgic
Do It Again Annie Sellick Street of Dreams
Don’t Wait Too Long Madeleine Peyroux Careless Love
Embraceable You Nat King Cole Stepping Out of a Dream
(I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons Nat King Cole Stepping Out of a Dream
I Didn’t Know What Time It Was Robin McElhatten Never Let Me Go
I Love Being Here With You Queen Latifah Trav’lin’ Light
I’m Gonna Lock My Heart Nicole Henry The Very Thought of You
I’ve Got the World On a String Robin McKelle Introducing Robin McKelle
In The Wee Small Hours of the Morning Jamie Cullum Pointless Nostalgic
L-O-V-E Nat King Cole Stepping Out of a Dream
Let’s Fall In Love Diana Krall When I Look In Your Eyes
Lullaby of Birdland Robin McKelle Modern Antique
Mambo-Italiano Annie Sellick Street of Dreams
Monk’s Dream Sachal Vasandani We Move
No Mood At All Robin McElhatten Never Let Me Go
On the Sunny Side of the Street Robin McKelle Introducing Robin McKelle
Señor Blues Anita O’Day All The Sad Young Men
Snap Your Fingers Perry Danos Snap Your Fingers – Single
Some Cats Know Annie Sellick Street of Dreams
Sweet Lorraine Nat King Cole Stepping Out of a Dream
The Nearness Of You Norah Jones Come Away With Me
They Can’t Take That Away from Me Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong The Verve Story: 1944-1994
They Say It’s Wonderful Eliane Elias Everything I Love
Too Close For Comfort Mel Torme The Verve Story 1944-1994 (Disc 3)
Too Close For Comfort Jamie Cullum Pointless Nostalgic
Waters of March Nicole Henry The Very Thought of You
Yes Sir, That’s My Baby Etta Jones Don’t Go To Strangers
Yes, My Darling Daughter Robin McKelle Introducing Robin McKelle
You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go Madeleine Peyroux Careless Love

 

3 thoughts on “The Best Playlist Ever

Leave a Reply

