The Tide

My love for her is resilient
When she brings me great joy
I love her
When she brings me great pain
I love her
When she surprises and delights me
I love her
When she disappoints and crushes me
I love her

Her love for me?
It ebbs and flows

Her love is the tide and I am a stone on the beach
When the tide is low, I languish in the sun
Longing for her return
Confident in her return
When the tide is high, I am enveloped
Surrounded with warmth, and salt, and wet
Unable to breathe, but not needing to breathe

Her love is the waves crashing on the beach
Receding
Striking
Each pass wearing away my rough edges
Making me smooth, allowing me to roll deeper into her
Year after year, deeper and deeper

When the tide is high, I make her promise to never recede
And she promises
But the tide is the tide
The tide has no use for promises
But she promises
And I believe her

And perhaps, as I roll deeper
Eventually I will no longer be part of the beach
I will be part of the ocean floor
Enveloped in warmth, and salt, and wet
Forever

2 thoughts on “The Tide

  1. The ocean is a powerful symbol of an all-consuming, eternal relationship. This imagery leaves no doubt about how you feel, an indelible picture of your marriage. This analogy should be used sparingly in general, but with confidence when the feelings are so strong; otherwise, what’s a meta phor?

Leave a Reply

